Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

Where every day is
an ADVENTURE

Click to join us on    

SEND & Inclusion/Diversity

Inclusion:

At Hardings we are committed to Equal Opportunities, promoting British Values and inclusion for all. We have a dedicated and experienced SENCO who oversees all of our additional needs and disabilities provision. We also work closely with a number of external providers such as local Children's Centres, Health Visitors, Social Care staff, Educational Psychologists and Speech Therapists where necessary to ensure that we meet all needs.

Our "Local Offer" outlines our approach to children with additional needs - you can view it here.

Click here to view Hertforshire County Council's "Local Offer" directory.

 

WELLCOMM Speech & Language Toolkit:

All of our Practitioners have completed training to use the WELLCOMM screening toolkit within the setting. WELLCOMM Is suitable for use by non-specialist early years professionals in identifying children who may need speech and language interventions and support. The toolkit also provides tailored intervention activities for professionals and families that can help improve language skills, whatever the age and ability of a child. All children will be screened after their first 6 weeks with outcomes fed back to familes. For further information about WELLCOMM please speak to our SENCO, Delia.

 

Celebrating Diversity:

We are proud of our equality practice at Hardings and use a number of things to ensure that our whole cohort is represented and included in everything that we do. We have bilingual books, an EAL story sack, multicultural dolls and toys and all of our signs around the Pre-School are in the languages of children currently attending the setting. We are able to offer all of our Policy & Procedure documents in other languages and formats as needed. All of our staff are trained in the use of basic Sign Language and Makaton and we use signs daily in our routine. We have also completed specific communication training through the "Shooting Stars" programme and use time lines around the setting which use pictures to convey routines such as hand washing and using the toilet.

Our themes throughout the year include a range of festivals and celebrations including Diwali, Chinese New Year and Christmas. We often have parents/carers come in to share their experiences with us to enhance our learning around these themes.

 

Autumn Newsletter

TERM DATES 2017/18

 Autumn Term 2017

 Wednesday 30 Aug  INSET - School CLOSED
 Thursday 31 Aug
 School CLOSED for home visits
 Friday 1 Sep  School CLOSED for home visits
 Monday 4 Sep  School CLOSED for Stay & Play sessions
 Tuesday 5 Sep  School OPEN FOR EXISTING CHILDREN
 Monday 23 Oct - Friday 27 Oct  School CLOSED for half-term
 Tuesday 19 Dec  End of Autumn Term

 

 Spring Term 2018

 Wednesday 3 Jan  INSET  - School CLOSED
 Thursday 4 Jan  School CLOSED for home visits
 Friday 5 Jan
 School CLOSED for home visits
 Monday 8 Jan
 School OPEN FOR EXISTING CHILDREN
 Monday 12 Feb - Friday 16 Feb  School CLOSED for half-term
 Thursday 29 Mar  End of Spring Term

 

 Summer Term 2018

 Wednesday 18 Apr                                          INSET - School CLOSED
 Thursday 19 Apr  School OPEN
 Monday 28 May - Friday 1 Jun  School CLOSED for half-term
 Friday 20 Jul  End of Summer Term